New Cover Page for DHG!

dhg-cover-final-export-600x825

Hello 🙂 It’s been a long while!

I’ve been working on all sorts of little projects for myself so DHG has taken a little break recently. But that’s not to say I haven’t been working on DHG at all!

Despite having very little experience with full-colour pictures, I decided to dive in and make a full-colour cover/avatar and banner for DHG – after all, the only way to better at something is to keep doing stuff!

So above, you can see my new Cover Page. This will be the ‘avatar’ for my Comic Fury site too and if you haven’t already seen, I’ve also added a new banner to both WordPress and Comic Fury — and additionally, my Twitter!

A few notes about this picture:

  • I sketched this out by hand, scanned it into my computer then coloured it using my snazzy new tablet-computer. It’s quite useful being able to draw directly on the screen.
  • Rory is wearing a plaid shirt. This look is inspired by Luke Danes from Gilmore Girls (a favourite TV show of mine) whose staple wardrobe item seemed to be plaid.
  • The plaid shirt seemed like a great idea until I started drawing it…
  • In the end, I opted against drawing the plaid by hand and created a swatch-type image on the computer, basically by drawing a set of straight lines of varying thicknesses and colours then layering them over each other. I then cut and paste this onto Rory’s shirt as appropriate.
  • The problem with the cut-and-paste method is the shirt ends up looking a little cardboard-like because the lines are all completely straight and doesn’t consider, for example, the shirt collar and sleeve which needed some ‘bend’. It’s not perfect but hopefully not too noticeable!
  • Remy’s dress is inspired by Amy Rose (from Sonic the Hedgehog) and also this dress here. (I chose against doing more plaid…)
  • Remy’s hair looks a lot lighter on my laptop than on my tablet…

I’ll now start work on Chapter 2 – hope you’ll be tuning in for more!

 

2 thoughts on “New Cover Page for DHG!

Thank you for reading - I'd love to know what you think! Feel free to leave a comment :)